duck-shaped pain

14 October 2001
Playing Office

I was mistaken the other day. Friday wasn't my last day of work - today was. I don't know how I got suckered into that, but I did. Today was a mess of explaining and re-explaining things, fixing the computer and listening to my co-worker L. drone on and on about the status of projects long past. Because there could be a chance that the new person might need to look up some six-year-old well data at a moment when no one else is there. Since I've never had to do this in my two years at this place, I was doubtful that this would happen. Eyes were rolled and I sort of stared at him with a how could you do this on my last day? glare.

All assembled were sad to see me go -- I told them I would be back in December, but there was still moodiness. I somehow fell into the role of The Person Who Knows Where Everything Is, and despite my attempts to educate others as to the locations of logs, paper clips, coffee creamer and paychecks, most are still unused to having to find things themselves. I'm not sure how I ended up being the one who makes the office go, but I did. That part of my brain that once held information on my seven-inch collection now keeps track of the best place to buy toner cartridges.

Anyway, tomorrow is booked up already. So is Tuesday. I think that after that I might head over to Denver for a few days, and then�who knows.


My last official act before going on vacation was to check to see if the digital camera was still working. Staplers and framed diplomas are not very photogenic, so I tested the thing out by taking some pictures of me. If you've ever had a hankering to see what I look like (or to remind yourself if you already know), there's a picture here and one here. That weird stare comes from me trying to look at the camera's LCD while posing at the same time. I don't normally stare like that, I assure you.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.