duck-shaped pain

16 January 2003
Feeling more optimistic.

Despite the dourness of my disposition, I managed to have a pretty good birthday, anyway. I received heartening words from friends and acquaintances, none of whom were as frazzled about me turning 29 as I was (even my plea, "well, I've only got a year left in the 25-29 demographic" failed to stir them, and I got some much-needed sense talked into me). I got nice, unexpected presents (money, mainly, which I plan to put towards my tuition), and a nice dinner out with my dad, where I ate good chicken marsala. I don't know why I get so grumpy about birthdays: they always turn out to be good in the end. I'm lucky to have a non-insane family, full of good people who truly care about me, and good friends and even decent co-workers (who I saw today, surprisingly, since I actually Went Into Work, even if just to drop off my revised, spring semester 2003 work schedule). I'm close to finishing my degree, something which I thought unlikely even two years ago, I'm out of debt, I've traveled a bunch over the last few years, I have great professors, and if I make it through school with good grades, I probably have a chance to get into a decent graduate school and make some sort of future that I actually want for myself (and get out of technical writing, thankfully). So, when I really look at it, I don't have that much to be grumpy about today. I know this sounds oddly inspirational coming from me, of all people, but I think it's true. I could turn 29 in much worse circumstances, surrounded by much worse people.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.