duck-shaped pain

26 September 2001
Many Options, One Goal

I keep thinking of what it is I'm going to do if my trip to Thailand is canceled. While I'll be disappointed if it falls through, for whatever reason, there is still good news. No matter what I end up doing, I still get six weeks off of work. Even if I sleep on the couch for the whole span of time, time spent away from answering phones and proofing badly written reports and the usual random daily bafflement is time well spent.

So I was thinking of some possible opportunities should my original plan fall through:

  • I could take the amount of money I was planning to spend on my trip and see how far I could get in the US on it. I could just get in my car one day and drive wherever, and see how far I get before I run out of money.

  • I could do something like the above, but with a loosely defined plan instead of just whatever. I've been meaning to visit my friend Z. down in New Mexico for a long time, and my grandparents down in Arizona, too, so I could go do that, and then take it from there. There are many things around that area that I've always wanted to see. Like, even though I've lived in the Southwest most of my life, I've never been to the Grand Canyon. I am ashamed of me.

  • I could read a lot of books.

  • I could actually update the journal every day.

  • I could cook things, which I never have time to do anymore.

  • Since airfares are cheap, I could fly somewhere that I've never been to before. I've never been to New England, ever, and I've really never been to the South, save for three days in New Orleans many years ago. That's always a possibility.

  • I could rent a cabin in the woods somewhere and spend a week just sleeping and drinking coffee and communing with nature.

  • Or many other possibilities.

So in some ways, it doesn't matter. Whether I recreate here or abroad, the goal is clear: stay far, far, far away from work.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.