duck-shaped pain

5 February 2002
What Pants Can Tell Us

I dropped my yoga class today. It felt great to do this, because I hated that class.

Part of this hatred came from the papers about feelings (where I would be marked down due to my feeling not being "happy enough"), some came from the bizarre music we had to listen to (lite classical accompanied by bleating whale sounds), but a lot stemmed from the fact that my back hurt for days after each class. [1]

I knew something was wrong when I started working on my taxes this weekend. I'm going to owe a chunk of money, and yet I was not stressed about this. I was, however, very stressed about the idea of going to yoga class this morning. There's something wrong there.

So now I feel better. It's only a one-credit class anyway, and the amount of thought and hand-wringing it was provoking in me was completely unproportional to the effect it would have on my GPA. Now I also have the added benefit of not having to be at school until noon three days a week, which means more sleep and more chances to write in the mornings.


The whole writing thing (or, rather, the complete lack of time to write) has been worrying me lately. I notice that if I don't get out what's preoccupying me on paper, it comes out in other ways.

I've been having really odd, very vivid dreams since school started. The ones that would make entertaining journal entries if I could only remember them. You'll just have to take my word on this. But I'm sure the two are related.

I do remember a part where I was living inside a lizard. And another where I visited an unrecognizable East Coast city and spent a lot of time traveling down a slide on my ass.


I was walking across campus this afternoon, and there were these two girls in front of me. I was really intrigued by the pants that one of them was wearing. They were tight and white, and were covered with the word "princess", printed in black. The other girl was talking to Miss Princess Pants about said pants, and she replied, "Yeah, I like them a lot, but I wish that the words were printed bigger. I want people to be able to read my pants from across campus."


[1] I'm sure other, better yoga classes would not have the same effect (or not as severe an effect), but this class is taught sort of oddly. We don't have much time each day, so everything was really rushed (hurry up and relax, essentially), and the instructor was sort of preoccupied a lot, and didn't do much to teach us proper form, I think.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.