duck-shaped pain

3 July 2001
You Granite Countertops Aren't From Around These Parts, Are Ya?

Got paid to sit around and do nothing for five hours today. Not a thing. The data which usually awaits me each morning was missing, nobody felt compelled to call for any reason, and no packages were delivered. Still, I had to be there in case of any of that did happen. After awhile, I figured it was pointless, and left.

Z. and I went out for pizza for lunch. I had two slices -- one with Canadian bacon and bell pepper, and the other with pesto, tomatoes and feta cheese. Lunch Of The Month, so far. He had two slices, too -- both cheese. It went unspoken, though, that we both felt compelled to steer clear of the sour cream and potato pizza. Not the most promising combination -- When Foods Collide.

The pizza place is a recent discovery of mine. Of course, it just recently opened, so it's not like I unearthed some long-ridden gem on some abandoned street corner somewhere, a place which has years of grease strata behind the appliances and waitresses that have been working there for 30 years. No, this place has shiny new pizza ovens and the owners have looks on their faces that suggest that they haven't yet realized the enormity of the task they have undertaken.

But they sure do have good pizza. [1]

So we were eating and Z. remarked that the d�cor of the restaurant made it seem like it belonged in some other town, somewhere far away where people read books for fun and don't pick their teeth with a pocketknife while waiting for the light to change.

There was exposed brick. And wood floors. Paintings on the walls. Comfortable couches and a small rack of books that you could borrow from the restaurant. It was almost a bit too nice. A total package not many places around here deliver. Sure, there are some places where you can buy $9 salads and purchase separate scented candles for each of your chakras that share some of these characteristics (usually the wood floor one), but this is a place I actually like going in to. Feta cheese and all.


Lots of fun packages in the mail today. I got a wrinkly crinkly gauze shirt I ordered last week and two books: Travelers' Tales: Thailand and The Columbia Anthology of Traditional Chinese Literature. The first is for research. The second one is for sheer summer reading pleasure.


There may not be too many other entries this week. My friend M. is coming to visit, so I'm going to be off jaunting about the state until Sunday. I might have time to update, but I bet not.


[1] People who come from places less pizza-deprived than here might disagree, but I think they offer fine, fine meals.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.