duck-shaped pain

20 November 2002
Feet of doom.

The good news: I am not going to lose my job.

The bad news: This is only a technicality. While I will still be listed as an "active" contractor for the company, I certainly will not have any work to do in December, and may not have any work to do until February. The Employer is pretty sketchy with any sort of long-term planning, so it's hard to say what's going to happen after that.

I don't know if I'm relieved or not. On one hand, it's a good thing, knowing that I will continue to have work to do if and when there is work to do, but December and January are critical earning months for me, as that is when I make the money to pay spring tuition. I think I'll be able to get through it okay, but I'm not too pleased about it.

I am glad to know, after weeks of being tense about what could be happening. I also figure that I'm lucky: other people working for the organization probably won't be working there again until next summer, if at all. Having December off, more or less, does free me up to do some other things. I might get one of the Xmas retail jobs I've applied for. I could just hole up and read books for a while, until I go to Oklahoma! for Christmas. Or, I could do something else, something else that I haven't thought about yet. Any suggestions?


Better than even imagined: enormous, soft gingerbread cookies covered in dark chocolate. I bought a package of them while I was out shopping with my aunt last night. It was a night of good tastes overall: we ate at a Mexican restaurant in town that I hadn't eaten at before, and it was very good. I had chicken with chipotle sauce, fresh tortillas, and this odd (but good) side dish made out of marinated cabbage, onions, jalapenos and cilantro. Topped off with an enormous margarita, so I was in an especially good mood. Then we went shopping and I bought some more orange things.


I forgot to win this auction today, out of sheer having something else to do. But what would I wear plaid shoes with anyway? I've only just recently moved out of my long (15 years) period of wearing nothing but black shoes -- plaid might be taking things a bit too far. I think if I were to wear them, I would run into people and lampposts, because I would be too busy staring at my feet as I walked. Or I would get hit by a car, because my feet would distract drivers. Either way, I think plaid shoes would spell doom.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.