duck-shaped pain

30 September 2001
Momentary Glimpse of Power

Puzzling.

I'm used to getting spam from people offering to promote my site -- "Is Duck Shaped Pain getting the attention it deserves? Sign up for our 30-point plan to increase your traffic, and you can be getting hits from duck enthusiasts all over the globe in no time!" -- but today I got something interesting. Spam that offered to help me promote someone else's guestbook. Not even their journal -- their guestbook.

I felt bad -- what if the promotion of shoeboxdiary.signmyguestbook.com was truly in my hands alone? What should I do with this sort of power, this ability to make or break someone's collection of assorted comments and messages? Should I go for it, take it on as a project? I could become its manager. We could rise and fall together.

The possibilities came and went in my mind like dissipating clouds, and then my lentils were done and I deleted the mail. I can't even promote my own guestbook, let alone someone else's�

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.