duck-shaped pain

6 January 2003
12 months of grimness.

I almost never make New Year's resolutions. If I do, they're ones that are easy to keep. One year, my resolution was to buy more CDs, something which I easily fulfilled. Two years ago, I resolved to travel more, and I succeeded at that.

I made a resolution this year, one that is simultaneously extremely common yet hard to attain. I resolved to a) start exercising more and b) lose weight. The first part of the resolution is because I've felt like a big slug for a long time, spending a lot of time holing up at work or studying instead of moving around. I'm taking a hiking class (part of the baffling fitness requirement for graduation at my college) later this semester, too, and I'd like to be in better shape for it. The second part of my resolution is because I am tired of not being able to fit into the clothes that I'd like to by and, honestly, because I turn 30 next year (I turn 29 in ten days) and thinking about it scares the bejeebus out of me. I'm not sure how losing weight would change this, but it seems like a reasonable response to the situation. It's not motivated by any real changes in my body composition: I've been the same size (not a great size, mind you, but a stable one) for about four years now. It just feels like time for a change.

I'm sure that my mania to do these things will wane with the coming weeks, after school starts and I get all stressed and decide that an all-pistachio-but lunch would hit the spot.


My big score of the morning was managing to buy all of my textbooks, a $275 value, for just over $150, thanks to the Internet and the fact that I already owned a couple of the books I needed. Conveniently, my mom gave me $150 for my upcoming birthday to use for buying books, so it pleases me to no end that the total ended up being close to that number. Some purchases are puzzling. The "text" for my health and wellness "class" (also a baffling graduation requirement) is merely a slight packet of stapled photocopies and a home-burned CD, which retail together for $29. My US as a Foreign Culture, a class which I supposed would have numerous books, has only one, a small, slender blue book. I guess this means we're going to be handed a large gob of photocopied crap on the first day of class.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.