duck-shaped pain

07 October 2001
Shock And Dismay

Now that I'm not going on my trip, what am I going to do?

I don't have any answers, but as you all should know now, one of the things that I'm not going to do is go back to work as if nothing happened. It's been go go go all year over there, and I really need some time off.

But the last few days have been spent informing non-journal readers, assorted people about town, and others about the now non-status of my trip.

Many expressed dismay, some were sad - much like I was when I found out.

But the next question was predictable - "So what are you going to do instead?"

"Well, I'm not exactly sure. I think I'm going to try and go on several smaller trips. Other than that, I think I'm just going to relax a while, catch up on my reading, and try to do some stuff around the house that I've been meaning to do for a while."

In other words, the typical things people do on their vacation.

"So you're not going to go to work?"

No. I mean, I'm still going to return after the six weeks, as expected, but not before then.

"Doesn't that seem sort of wrong, though? I mean, you're not going somewhere you planned on going, so it seems logical that you'd go back to work. If you worked for me, that's what I'd want you to do."

I'm sure that's what The Employer would like me to do, too. But I asked for this six weeks off months ago, without really specifying what I was going to do with it. Later, I told him what I planned to do with it, but I still got the six weeks off first.

"Aren't you concerned about losing your job?"

Maybe. Maybe not. I don't think I will, but if I do, I have enough money to tide me over for a while, and with school starting in January, I have plenty to occupy me for a while. It's not on the top of my concern list at the moment, especially after all the shit that's been happening there the last few weeks.

"So you're just going to sit around, then?"

Perhaps.

"I'd love to do something like that. I just can't imagine getting six weeks off of work."

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.