duck-shaped pain

1 December 2002
A metaphor for everything.

Something I am mildly disturbed by: I have not won a game of solitaire in recent memory. I play solitaire on my computer whenever my internet connection is being really slow, which has been a frequent occurrence as of late. I figure that doing something else makes me less hostile than watching my email download ever so slowly. So I've been playing it a lot, and I haven't won for a long time. I don't officially keep track of wins and losses, but I keep having alternating feelings of doom and hope whenever I play. I think whenever I start a game that this could be the one, but then I quickly figure out that it won't be.

I notice this sort of thing because it contributes to my overall feeling of being blocked lately. I can't seem to write much, I can't seem to enjoy much of anything, and on top of that, I can't seem to win a stupidly easy game.


Favorite google hit of the day: "yves klein blue pee". Did he work in pee? I don't think so.


I have black-ish hair now, which is not intentional. My whole goal was to have dark brown hair, but either I bought the wrong box (unlikely) or the wrong color was put in the box (always blame the large corporation). I figured out something was wrong halfway through the coloring process, and I washed it off. Disaster could have been the result, but I was lucky. Most of my hair is sort of a light black/dark brown, and a few strands (which were red before) didn't get colored, so they actually look like highlights now. The total result is pleasing, but the pleasure is exacerbated by the thought of how bad it could have been.


It snowed here overnight. I woke up to a world of white, but now at 12:10 p.m. mountain time, it has all melted away and everything just looks moist. Blech.


Another reminder: it is now the month of Christmas cards. Go here for more details. If you want one, mail me (and don't forget to take out "chinesefood"). Die-cut holiday greetings of some sort will be on their way to you, as soon as finals end.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.