duck-shaped pain

11 December 2001
The Day Of Subheadings

My Decision

Okay. I think I'm officially Being Avoided right now. None of my messages have provoked any response, people seem to be oddly unavailable all of a sudden, and I'm sick of worrying about it. This would be about my job, of course. But I think I've devoted more mental energy to it than it deserves, and so I'm just going to sit back, enjoy the extra time off, and the ball is in their court now.


Same City, Different Planets

I downloaded Vindigo Denver last night and played around with it. It's sort of cheesy, not at all useful, and sort of fascinating in what it does and does not include. The restaurant reviews are interesting, because they tend to concentrate on all sorts of fancy, trendy places -- the sorts of places I would frequent if I had a late night craving for squab with crab emulsion -- and mention a lot more about previous places the chefs have worked at than the food itself. So they're more or less useless, but amusing. It's a glimpse into a part of Denver I managed to avoid while I lived there -- the world of scary trendy restaurant people. I guess my problem with the thing is that it fails to answer the one really essential Denver dining question: "It's two a.m., and where am I going to find some falafel at this hour?"


Loganberry, Maybe

I, like everyone else in town, went to the post office today to mail things. I sent off the first wave of Christmas cards and some books people bought and I had a light load in comparison to some. I was in line behind a woman who was mailing off jam to distant relations. I know this because she was one of those people who waits until they get to the post office to box up and address their packages. So we all watched her as she was up at the counter, buying boxes and getting her fingers caught in the tape and being a general mess. Finally, she managed to coax each jar of jam into its box and got them all ready to go. Then she decided to insure each jar of jam. For a hundred dollars. I can't decide if this is touching or completely lame. It could have been really good jam.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.