duck-shaped pain

16 February 2002
A Rainbow of Backgrounds or Stopping the Whining

Some people said that the red was too harsh, so I'm playing around with other colors. Right now, the main page, the older entries, and the guestbook are all different colors, while I study the problem.

The nice thing about having white graphics and white text is that they go with just about everything, so maybe I'll just change the color at random intervals.


Today is the first day I've had since school started where I don't have anything I have to do. Winter break starts today. Sort of a useless break -- not long enough to go anywhere, and not long enough to be a real break, and I have to work during most of it anyway. Today I will sleep and putter around. Tuesday is the day on which I will attempt to do something interesting and preferably out of town. My current plan is to go to Aspen for the day, for several reasons.

1. It's not a very far drive, yet it's a completely different world than where I live.

2. Can�t get enough of the German tourists wearing fur coats.

3. The thrift store there (yes, there is one) sells all sorts of new and more-or-less-new books for incredibly cheap. I went there at this time last year and spent about $10 on books, and made $400 selling them, so that's quite an incentive. I haven�t had time to trawl around the local thrift stores in search of cheap books lately, so my book-selling business has been suffering.

4. I need to get out of town, if even for only a few hours.

So, there you go -- desperation and a profit motive, all wrapped into one.


Results keep rolling in from all the tests I took this week. I still don't know how I did on my big exhibit design conflagration, something which I won't know until probably a week from Monday (the next time the class meets). I did worse than I thought on my geology exam, and better than I expected on the mineral-identification test in the accompanying lab. The odd thing is that I got the same grade on both tests, 88 percent. So as to not be too harsh on myself (an 88 is pretty good, but I expected better), the highest grade in the class on the geology exam was a 90 (the mean was 66 -- not very good), and the highest grade on the mineral test was mine. So there.

I also got the highest grade in the class on my Spanish test -- a 99 -- which pleased me to no end. This is because there's a contingent of people in the class who are all generally really whiny, and they all did badly on the test, and they were pleading with the professor in class the other day to please please pretty please curve the test results, which doesn't work well when the top grade is 99. These people speak often on how hard Spanish is and how they don't have time to study but they have to take it (I have to take it, too, folks) and that it's just too much work

Not that I like this Spanish class that much -- the professor is really vague and does as little as possible to help teach us Spanish -- but I hate whiny people even more.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.