duck-shaped pain

12 September 2001
Thank You...

�to my co-workers, who keep blaming this whole situation on The Environmentalists. [1] Watching you guys hover around the radio, jumping on every piece of news and theorizing about how, in the end, the blame for this all lies at their feet, was really pleasant. "And, then, if it is true, we can shoot them!"

�to the woman in the waiting room at the DMV this morning, [2] who watched me read my book as I sat there (Everyday Zen), and then told me that I should be ashamed of myself for reading "anti-Christian literature" (her words) at such a time.

� to the guy on one of the exceptionally lame local radio talk shows who went off this morning about how he thought the people in the WTC deserved what they got, since "if you want to live in New York, you have to suffer the consequences."

Thank you all. Not just for depressing me further, but for stripping away the small amount of faith I still had in rural Coloradans. Don't you people have anything better to think about? Can you not say every single thing that pops into your head, just for one or two days? Don't you think about who you might be talking to, or who might be listening? Obviously not, or you would know that even people here are affected by the events of the last couple of days, people who have friends in New York and who worried about them [3] and who, if they have to hear any more of what you have to say, are going to scream and yell and possibly smack you upside the mouth.


[1] Everything gets blamed on the environmentalists, really. (Not by me). Steak overcooked? Car won't start? Christmas falls on a Wednesday? They know who to blame. People who like clean air, trees, fish, and who try to get in the way of Mining: America's Greatest Industry.

[2] I finally got Colorado plates on my car. Small victory.

[3] Mine are all okay.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.