duck-shaped pain

18 March 2002
"Um, so, do you, um, have anything to say?"

I'm about halfway through transcribing the interviews I did for my oral history project. If you're looking for something to blame for there not being an entry here the last few days, you now know where to point that grudge.

Transcribing is hard work, since the requirement for this assignment is that the transcriptions have to be word-for-word. Every "um" and "ah" and "uh" has to be there, and it's amazing how a question that sounds mildly interesting in your head reads completely disjointed and stupid when it's down on paper.

Actual example: "So, you were with the yearbook, back when it existed, but have you been involved with any of the other publications, I mean, the student ones, in the sense of being hands-on or being a reader or being in the advice position?"

This came out of my mouth, and I have no idea what it means.

I was sort of nervous.

Anyway, this isn't due for a week, but I'm trying to get all my homework done before I leave for San Francisco on Wednesday. The last thing I want to do after flying home absurdly late on Sunday is to get up early the next morning and type up some more vague questions.


The last few days have been really busy. I've been trying to get a lot of work in, to make up for the time I've been missing due to midterms and for the time I will miss while on vacation.

I have a new co-worker, C. I was dreading getting a new one, thanks to the unceasing drama associated with the old one, but I am pleased. C. not only does things correctly, she's really funny and pleasant to be around.

I couldn't ask for more.


Saturday, I had a brief mini-vacation, when I went up to Glenwood Springs with my dad. He was there to meet up with a friend of his, and I went because otherwise, I would not be able to relax and would go to work or something. They went off and did some stuff, and I sat and wrote and drank coffee outside in the cold. It was more pleasant than it sounds, believe me. Later came swimming in the hot springs pool (it started to snow) and then, for lunch, I had another of the long line of tasty reubens I've eaten at the local brewpub. Hot water + beer + pastrami = long, long nap, though. Not a good idea 70 miles from home.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.