duck-shaped pain

7 May 2002
Baffling News

I wrote my paper on vegetarians in the 1970s a week ago. It was a long and arduous task, especially for a paper which was only nine pages long. Part of the problem was that it was sort of an off-the-wall topic, which required maybe more explanation than other topic would. Compounding the problem was that it was an off-the-wall topic that few others have written about. The various histories of vegetarianism out there tend to stop somewhere in the 1940s, and the one that I found that does go up to the present day only discusses British vegetarianism. I wouldn't have thought this to be a large distinction a few months ago, but in writing my paper, I found that it indeed was, for various reasons. [1] So I didn't have a lot of secondary sources that I could rely on, and finding primary sources required a lot of work, a lot of time poring over scratchy microfiche in the library on weekends.

Anyway, it didn't turn out to be quite the paper I thought it was. I accumulated so much information that I couldn't fit it all in my paper. Which is better than the opposite, I guess. But it also meant that I had to abandon my original plans halfway through writing it, and at the end, I felt a total sense of lack emanating from the thing. There were plenty of places where I thought things were missing, and that there were lots of questions left unanswered. But I turned it in anyway, since it was due shortly after I finished it.

Doom, though, has been in the back of my mind. It was my first real attempt at writing a history paper, a big thing for me since I am a history major, after all. So it felt like a test to me, something to prove that I was really up to this.

I still have a few days before I get the thing back. But my mood of gloom has changed to one of puzzlement.

Today, I was sitting outside after finishing my very easy Spanish final, relaxing and waiting for my next class to begin. I was just minding my own business when one of the other history professors -- not one I have this semester, one that I only barely know -- came up to me.

"I heard about your vegetarian paper," she said. "I'd really like to read it after you get it back."

I must have looked totally baffled or something, so she continued. "Yeah, it's been all over the history department."

Is this a good thing or a bad thing? She seemed pretty excited about it, and I was a bit too surprised to ask further, so I just stammered out a thank you and she went on her merry way.

Now I'm even more curious to get the thing back.


[1] There's a stronger tradition of vegetarianism there, apparently, and there is more of an organized movement over there than there is here. Also, Americans in the 1970s ate more beef than anyone on the planet ever, and vegetarianism at that time was totally a reaction to beef. The specific anti-beef slant to American vegetarianism at the time, plus its lack of organizational structure, is what distinguishes it, which is why this book was useless to me for this paper.



previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.