duck-shaped pain

8 January 2003
I wouldn't stand for this from a lover, so why should I stand for it from a job?

Today, I have been looking for a job. I've been looking off and on for a job for a while now, but never seriously, because I knew, or at least thought I knew, that I would be working at my usual job once again.

I was supposed to work this week, starting on Monday. It is now Wednesday, and I'm waiting for someone to call me to tell me to come in and do whatever work it is I was promised. It's really aggravating: one of my least favorite things in the world is to sit around and wait for someone to call, especially someone as absent-minded as The Employer. And I also know that his preferred method of firing someone is to not call someone and generally pretend that they no longer exist, so long periods without contact always make me sort of nervous. I've seen it happen to other people.

There isn't much out there, unfortunately. Not many jobs at all in my town, which has never been a hotbed of easy employment even in the best of times. My cousin and his wife just moved back to town from living somewhere even worse (Colorado Springs) and neither of them have been able to find work outside of the family businesses yet. My cousin is working in the family appliance store and his wife is working in, well, whatever it is her family does. Said family business may be my salvation as well: as soon as it is moved to a new building in a few weeks, I can work there, too. I've been doing a bunch of computer work for them off and on for the past couple of years. It's pretty easy work and while I don't make as much there as I do in my usual job, I make more than I would at most other jobs in town. There's a big backlog of things to do, too, since I haven't done anything there since last summer. This might be my best hope: most of the other things that seem to be available all involve wearing headsets and talking to distant customers on the phone, the sort of work that I would rather rip my fingernails out with pliers than do. The ads for these places always show some smiling middle-aged woman sitting in a cubicle, beaming as she talks into her headset. My whole modus operandi when searching for work the last ten years has been to Avoid Phones, and I intend no deviation from the plan.


I went out for an impromptu shopping trip with my aunt Monday night, despite not having any money. I still bought some very bright red, black and pink argyle socks (their brightness reminded me of spring, which is something I feel in need of right now), among other things. We ate dinner at a tasty and recently discovered Mexican restaurant, and I had grilled shrimp covered in roasted tomatillo sauce, and you must believe me when I tell you that I would die for anything that has tomatillos in it, such do I love their tangy, puckery greenness. The tortillas that accompanied my meal were warm and tasted like they had been made mere minutes before coming to the table. Freshly made tortillas are one of the finest things in the world.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.