duck-shaped pain

6 December 2001
Unreasonably Wired

Today was a pretty useless day, as far as recounting deeds and checking things off on my mental to-do list.

I got up late, watched bad home decorating shows on TV, ate leftover Chinese food for lunch, went to Sam's to buy dog food, worked on the Christmas cards, read a while, wrote in the paper journal, ate a green chile cheeseburger and drank two beers for dinner, watched some hockey, made more Christmas cards, listened to some music and now it's midnight and I'm completely wired. I don't know how that came about. I didn't drink any excess caffeine [1] and the two beers I were each about six percent alcohol, so I really should be stumbling dead into bed, instead of this.

Tomorrow, though, I plan to do something at least sort of interesting. I don't know what that is, but I'll let you know.


Yesterday I bought myself a Christmas present. It will also double as my birthday present. And possibly my present for several holidays after that. But I figure I'll get a lot of use out of it, what with school coming up and because I'm always writing stuff down and then entering it into my computer later, except for the notes I lose, that is.

I've been thinking about buying myself one for a while (for the above reasons), and it is sort of sad that what finally proved to be the tipping point here is that they now came in red.


Current reading: Into The West: A Story of its People by Walter Nugent ( a recently published demographic history of the West, written by someone who can actually write); The Zuni Enigma by Nancy Yaw Davis (postulates that the Zuni tribe may have been descended from the Japanese, although I'm not to the point in the book where she attempts to explain this); Wanderlust: A History of Walking by Rebecca Solnit (not a great book, but I checked it out from the library again to re-read selected parts).


[1] In fact, it was an excellent day as far as caffeine was concerned. I opened up the big jar of Trader Joe's Bay Blend Ultra Roast coffee that I bought in Tucson last month, and I was so pleased, I hugged the container. I'm not a hugging person when it comes to people, let alone small containers. But I was nearly ecstatic to have some to drink after such a long time (I used to buy it all the time when I lived in Oregon, and have had none since I left), and to make the reunion even better, this morning was the first chance I'd ever had to make the stuff in a French press. Happiness all around. Anyone who feels like they need to bribe me or get on my good side for any reason now knows what to send�

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.