duck-shaped pain

21 May 2002
Work Work Bitch Bitch

Two really busy days at work. Two very unsatisfying days at work. I used to be able to get into what it is I do for a living, was able to concentrate all of my energies into doing it well, but those days seem to have passed. My job isn't dull, it isn't awful -- those would be good incentives for me to quit and find something else. It's just there, something that doesn't involve any real challenges or consequences. If something doesn't get done, who cares about it? So it's hard to invest my energy in it.

The lack of challenges and its complete irrelevancy to anything that I'd like to do with my life don't seem like good enough reasons to quit, though. I mean, that's what jobs are about, right? Tediousness. There's some good and some bad and a lot of in-between. I tell people about my job and its perceived benefits and they all think I'm insane to consider leaving, but I get really antsy when there's no real challenge to something. I have no real chance of promotion: you're either The Employer or you're not, and there's no real hierarchy among those in the "not" category. It wasn't too bad when school was in session, because it was this tiny part of my life and its dullness was sort of relaxing compared to what else I was dealing with. But a week and a half into my return to full-time work, and I'm going nuts. I think, everyday, please please please let summer school start soon. [1]

I don't know where I'm going with this (or how this differs from any of the other work-related complaints I've had over the years), really. Just thinking.


[1] It starts June 10.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.