duck-shaped pain

2000-07-06
Where I Admit I Like Some Songs Only For Their Titles

Whatever has been bugging me for the last few days seems to be turning into a full-blown illness now. I can always tell when I'm going to get sick - my nostrils feel wrong. My eyes are incredibly dry, my lips and throat are parched, and I can't seen to drink enough water. I have this enormous plastic cup that I got while I was in the hospital -- it holds 45 ounces of water, and I've had to refill it four times already today.

I hate being sick, especially in the summer. The last time I was majorly sick was when I had pneumonia last fall. One of the nice things about giving up smoking last year is that I no longer fall prey to every little bug and virus that comes around. I used to get sick constantly when I smoked, and I'm glad I don't anymore. Not to mention the other benefits such as being able to smell again and not spending so much money...

I was planning to make some peanut sauce for dinner and combine it with some vegetables and spaghetti, but since I'm getting sick, I'm going to make noodle soup. I used to call my I-am-sick soup chicken soup, but stopped after other diners complained (it has no chicken in it, just chicken broth). It has lots of onions, garlic and mushrooms in it, but the real attraction is the noodles.

The noodles that go in it are a regional brand, called Grandma's Noodles. They're frozen egg noddles, and when cooked, they're thick and doughy. I've never found any other noodles like them, and the recipe for noodle soup is designed to make the best of these noodles. I could never find them when I lived up in the PacNW, which made getting sick there an extra-special drag. Nothing else I've tried using makes a proper noodle soup.

Current musical selection: Cloudy Cloud Calculator by Takako Minekawa. It's a great record, not just becuase it has a song on it called "Milk Rock", but also because it has this picture, which is in the jewel case beneath the CD. Previous selction: Live Recordings 1956-1969 by Bill Monroe.

I've been thinking some today about why I write this diary. The reason I started it was to get used to writing again, since I stopped for so long, and as a counterpart to my paper diary. It's sort of turned into a way for people I know all over to keep in touch with what I'm doing, and that's why I sometimes find myself writing "What I did on my summer vacation"-type entries rather than, you know, things with a little more substance. I really enjoy writing things here, but I'm always sort of hesitant about what to write. Do I want to share this with the world? Do I want people beyond the few who know about my diary to know about this? Sometimes, I'll write something in the other diary that I think is really great, but when I try to write it here, all I can think is, "Nobody wants to know about that," and I can't make myself do it anyway. And, I also think about what kind of reaction people might be having to what I write, whether it's complete boredom or sheery annoyance. So I'm still figuring out what kind of beast I want to make out of this thing, which accounts, I guess, for the varying quality of these entries. If you like one thing, you might not like the next thing. But one thing is for sure: sooner or later, I'll write about what I cooked for dinner again....

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.