duck-shaped pain

2000-08-13
Where I Whine About Having Too Many CDs

For the last 4 days, I have had essentially one leisure-time activity, and that's paring down my completely unmanageable CD collection. People - at least people who have been to my apartment - think that I'm a disorganized, slovenly individual. This is true, but it's much less because I don't like to clean - I actually don't mind and sometimes enjoy the mindlessness - but because my room violates the Prime Rule Of Organization: I have more things than I have places to put them. And the CDs are the eye in the pyramid.

This doesn't have to be the case - I just have had the habit, over the last ten years, of accumulating crappy music and carrying it around with me. Much of it, at the moment, is sitting snugly in my mom's attic in New Jersey, but plenty of it made it up here and has been since joined by a myriad of books and records and so forth that I've accumulated since '97. Much of it is really good, and I am glad to have it. But a good chunk is just not really necessary - it's not that I don't need (my best estimate) 1000 CDs. But not these 1000.

How did I accumulate 1000 CDs? Well, to begin with, I haven't sold off too many of 'em, even a lot of the stuff I know I'll never really listen to. For another thing, I still don't know how to drive, which tends to increase one's disposable income even if you don't work all that hard. But mainly, I - like YR, with whom it was my main activity in my time in Colorado - am an inveterate thrift shopper. Being that, in Colorado, the world had told me that my job skills were worth approximately $5.75 an hour plus free coffee, it made perfect economic sense for me to spend an hour finding the 10 or 15 $5 treasures to be dug up in one of the innumerable used record stores there. This also means, of course, that my musical purchases are biased towards those artists who frequently appear in used bins�often for good reason.

I also reviewed records for a magazine for a while; this actually didn't increase my collection too much, as much of what I was sent was just abominable crap that even I would never keep around. However, reviewing video games for the magazine did, for two reasons: 1. I was only allowed to review a game a month, but was sent 4 or 5, and 2) The video game companies, mere babes in the woods compared to record companies, were credulous enough to simply send store-perfect copies of their games, no promo hole, no markings, shrink wrap and bar code and everything. Pretty much every box set I have was, in a sense, originally a video game.

So, overall, these 1000 CDs probably total up to a little over $6000 of actual spent money, which, spread over a decade, is actually not too unreasonable - cheaper than cigarettes, and considerably more rewarding. But, despite having three of those giant CD books and two big racks, it's a continual onslaught of chaos. Plus, two of my dresser drawers are pretty much filled, mostly with CDs that have enough good songs (1 or more) that I don't want to get rid of them, but don't have enough songs for me to actually pull them out and listen to them. This last week has been dedicated to fixing this problem; I'll write about my method tomorrow. I only hope you can stand the suspense.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.