duck-shaped pain

11 December 2000
Who Says I Never Write Any Letters?

Dear Dean Wareham:

How are you today? I am fine. The weather here last night was very unusual. It was cold (no, this isn't the unusual part -- it is December and this is Colorado) -- frighteningly, bitterly cold. That part came first. Then, later, it started to rain, accompanied by nearly an hour of thunder and lightening that came too close to the house for comfort. The cold air froze the rain as soon as it hit the ground, so we all woke up this morning to frozen, bubbly masses covering the streets, sidewalks and any other available surface.

My car was one of the unlucky ones -- parked out of the sun's reach, it was still covered in a layer of ice when I left the house this morning. The door was frozen shut, and the wiper blades were stuck to the windshield, rendering them completely useless.

Whether by chance or misfortune, I found that my ice scraper was missing. Thinking I would improvise, I tried scraping parts of the ice off with a string of objects I found in the car -- an old shoe, a broken CD case, a metal spoon -- all to no avail. I was ready to quit, to give up hope, when I spied my cassette copy of Galaxie 500's Today laying on the floor of my car. Normally, I wouldn't even think of using such an incredible album this way, but it was an emergency (plus, the tape broke a few months back and I bought the reissued version on CD last year). I had a deep, knowing feeling inside me that it would work, and it did. Thanks to you and the good people at Rough Trade (way back when), I managed to free my windshield of ice. I'll always remember that, and hey, maybe I can do you a favor someday. Hope things are going well otherwise, and have a good day.

Sincerely,

Me

P.S. I'm sorry to say, but I'm one of those people who could never get into Luna, being unable to forgive them for not being Galaxie 500. I've tried, believe me. It's been awhile, though -- nearly a decade -- I bet you're thinking I should just get over it. I'll do my best.

P.P.S. "Instrumental" = best instrumental ever.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.