duck-shaped pain

12 December 2000
So Lame

Today at work, there was nothing to do. I am not exaggerating this at all. There was nothing at all to do � not even busy work or things that I could do in advance. I know this, because those are the sorts of things I did yesterday, when there was also nothing to do. This is how it's going to be all week � my boss is out of town and I worked my ass off the last few weeks to get all sorts of things done in preparation for him being gone, things which I now know did not require such urgency.

It would be easier if I could work on my own projects or just go home, but that's not an option. I have to be there, and I have to look busy. I've found that it takes a lot more effort to look busy than it does to actually be busy, since I'm constantly worrying about whether I look convincingly busy or not. Plus, I have to hide my tracks, so that no one can tell later that I spent my time writing manifestoes and journal entries. Not like I have anything that I'm supposed to be working on, but I'm a big believer in cover-your-assdom.

I created a PowerPoint presentation this afternoon on the topic of Why I Have Nothing To Do.

It turned out similar to haiku, but longer and with bullets and numbered lists. Something like:

Once there was much to do.

Now there is nothing.

Then I stuck some nature references in there, but they turned out much too lame and embarassing to share with the world at large. Yes, there were leaves involved. Snow was invoked.

Sad, you're thinking. Hey, I'm thinking that, too.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.