duck-shaped pain

2000-07-01
Where I Laugh At Death and It Laughs Back

I went to an estate sale today, one run by our town's professional estate seller (for lack of a better description). Hers are always pretty good, so I made sure to go.

So I went, and there was a lot of stuff. I found a few things I wanted - an old notebook, a letter "E" made out of old nails, a needle book. But, while I was looking through some of the stuff, I realized, Hey, I know who these people were. This isn't a huge town, so this isn't a rare occurence. I didn't know then very well, which is why I didn't recognize the house or address, but I still knew who they were. I bought my stuff, but it's the first time I've ever felt odd buying things that belonged to dead people.

I was supposed to meet someone for lunch, and we decided to meet at the bagel shop downtown and figure out what do from there. So I go downtown early so I can get some reading or writing done, and there's tons of people down there. Turns out our Fourth of July parade was today. I, of course, thought it was going to be on the, uh, Fourth. Naive me.

I tried calling my lunch companion to arrange to meet elsewhere, but she wasn't home. So I finally found a place to park, waited 20 minutes for my chai at the bagel shop, and finally found a place to sit. I didn't get much time to sit and watch people, although I ran into a few people I knew, because the person I was going to lunch to had heard that the parade was today and showed up early to find a parking spot.

She thought my "E" made of nails was pretty cool, too. But, I didn't tell her who it had belonged to.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.