duck-shaped pain

13 July 2001
Everything In Its Proper Category

Good: I bought the new issue of Giant Robot and it has interviews in it with both Haruki Murakami and Takeshi Kitano in it. Plus an article on colonic irrigation. How cool is that?

Was Very Bad For Awhile, Now Sort of Good: Pay day is technically the first of the month. So when did I get paid? Today. Now I need to go cash it right away to ensure I get some money out of it.

Bad, But Can Be Rectified: Someone ate all my almonds.

Bad, Bad, Bad: I got the invitation yesterday to my tenth high school reunion. Do I want to go? No. Do I care about these people? Not really. So why do I feel so guilty? Dunno. I'm probably not going to go. I have nothing in common with those people, not really. Paying $125 to sit around and listen to people discuss the only two members of our class that have distinguished themselves in any way (both by shooting lots of people and then themselves in a spectacular manner) is not my idea of fun. If it were free, maybe.

Epiphanies:

  • If I can survive six weeks in Thailand, I can pretty much do anything I want after that. Not like I couldn't before � what with free will and all � but convincing myself that I can accomplish stuff once I get off my duff and do it is another thing entirely. I expect to come back from Asia with a brand new set of cojones. It may be total wishful thinking, but there you go. Therefore, I am putting off all major life decisions until I get back from my trip in December. My mind will be too caught up in important backpack selections from now until I leave, anyway.

  • The job is not going to get any better, no matter how I try to frame it in my mind. It's not just the paycheck problems. It's not that people are now leaving in droves, making me feel like a sucker for staying � no, wait, it is all that, and more. Then again, it's not like any other job here would be any better. I would certainly make less if I changed jobs. That's what's keeping me here.

    previous | next



    the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.