duck-shaped pain

17 May 2002
Painting and Bitching

We've gained about 20,000 new people in the past ten years, and not one new road has been built. I mean, sure, squiggly little two-lane roads and their accompanying cul-de-sacs have been created to go through the umpteen new subdivisions that have been built recently, but as far as main thoroughfares go, there's nothing. There haven't even been any improvements to existing roads. This all adds up to awful, awful traffic, which is almost worse than any I've encountered in any of the cities I've lived in. It's not the sheer number of cars that's the problem, it's that my town refuses to do anything about the traffic, such as widening roads or putting in new lights. The official method of dealing with problems around here, especially problems associated with growth, is to pretend nothing is happening, that this is still a little town in the middle of nowhere. It's really annoying.


I have not had anything to do at work this week. Still, I had to look busy, which rules out writing and messing around on the internet. Looking busy is always more of a chore than actually being busy. I wish they'd just send me home at that point.


I cleaned up my office yesterday, and I am very happy. During the semester, it just came a depository for anything needed a home, so it eventually filled up with magazines and boxes and clothing and whatnot. It was impossible to sit down in it. My coworker C. came over last night to drink beer and hang out, so I had to clean it up in a hurry. [1] I didn't get all the books shelved correctly (I gathered that this would really matter to no one but me), but other than that, I have a happy clean office once again. Maybe I can actually start doing work in it now.

Speaking of the house, I keep having an urge to redo my bedroom. To say that it is not to my liking is an understatement. The walls are oppressively peach, covered with this dark (yes, peach can be dark) wallpaper with little white dots all over it. Complementing the awful wallpaper is this enormous piece of furniture that's been there forever. It's a big dresser/mirror thingie that is made out of this very dark, dark wood. It's like a big black hole along one wall, sucking all the energy and life out of the room. I never spend any time in my bedroom other than sleeping and changing clothes, so it's low on my list of priorities. Maybe I watched too many episodes of Trading Spaces while I was in Denver or something, but I have this unbearable urge to paint the room. I might be getting a new bed this summer, so I have to clean it up and rearrange things anyway, so why not change the whole thing?


My grades were finally posted. I got a gaggle of As.


[1] The possible method for cleaning up, as far as I'm concerned. I had planned to clean it up this weekend, but it would have taken much longer in a non-emergency situation, since I would sit down and carefully analyze each piece of debris, instead of just throwing it away. It stretches out what should be an hour-long task into an all-day trial. Now I just need to have someone visit my bedroom, so I can clean that up really quick.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.