duck-shaped pain

16 November 2000
List Frenzy and Sheer Desperation

My timing, as usual, is impeccable: just as I am preparing for one of the most hectic work-related weeks in recent memory, I go ahead and get sick. This is truly an unpleasant illness: it works mainly in the background so that I think I'm well enough to be up and active, to go out to dinner, to go out underwear shopping, to do all sorts of needed things, but once I start doing these things, it just sort of takes over my body and I feel completely wiped. It could be worse, I guess � illnesses like this usually wait for when I'm on vacation.

Still, I will not let it stop me. I will go to Denver. I will have fun. I will go shopping in actual stores that I want to go to, not just in ones I go to because they're the only places in town. I will eat hummus. I will buy the new Godspeed You Black Emperor! CD. Nothing, not even swine flu or gout or psoriasis will stop me. [1]

I was in a listing mood today:


Things I Like On Fries, Ver. 2.0 (in order) [2]

  1. Ranch dressing

  2. Cayenne pepper and fresh-ground black pepper

  3. Sausage gravy

  4. Honey mustard and ketchup, mixed together

  5. Discontinued and sorely missed Wendy's chili seasoning, mixed with ketchup

  6. Malt vinegar

  7. Plain ketchup


Crap in my glove compartment:

  • Tiny silver fork

  • Broken headphones

  • 25 pens (most non-working or otherwise uncooperative)

  • Bottle opener

  • Manuals for car

  • Gas receipt for gas bought four years ago

  • Some tape titled "Bubo" � I have no idea where it came from

  • Leaflet: "Prize-Winning Mile-High Cakes from Pikes Peak Flour"

  • Glove

  • Melted, nearly unrecognizable plastic Donald Duck figurine (wearing a sombrero)


Favorite Six? Seven? Songs by Favorite Band: [3]

  1. "Saucer-Like"/"Skip Tracer" (tie)

  2. "Karen Koltrane"

  3. "Mote"

  4. "Death To Our Friends"

  5. "Hey Joni"

  6. "Kotton Krown"



[1] Snowy roads in the mountains, though � that might stop me.

[2] New to Ver. 2.0: malt vinegar.

[3] This is the first time I've ever documented this. I didn't realize there was such a theme running through them.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.