duck-shaped pain

29 January 2002
.400

This my 400th entry. Hooray for me. Yippee, etc.

I thought a bit over the last day or so about what I should do to commemorate the occasion. Give away free stuff? Post nude pictures? Write something entirely in dialect? Get all introspective and post something long and screedy about the nature of keeping an online journal?

(The answers, respectively: no, eeew, too difficult, and I did that for my 300th entry.)

But I haven't had any good ideas, really. Sort of busy, still sick, not up for nutty ideas.

One thing that has interested me is seeing which entries have been the most popular over the year and a half I've been doing this (popularity here being defined by what gets the most hits, and the most comments). Some of them are popular because they're actually good or funny, some of them are popular for completely unknown reasons.

So, as a 400th entry treat, for you, or for me, or someone out there, I present:

The Ten Most Popular Things I've Written

  1. Ricky Schroeder's Kegger (28 January 2001) A classic. People seem to like it.

  2. Freaky Bookstore People (27 June 2001) A tale of miscreants in the local bookstore -- a scary child running around in a karate uniform, and a woman obsessed by The Celestine Prophecy.

  3. Puking On Utah (27 September 2000) What the teens here do for fun. Just in time for the Olympics!

  4. Very Advanced Poultry (27 April 2001) A weird dream I had about chickens that knew how to use PowerPoint.

  5. Toilet Paper Crafts (16 August 2001) I go to my cousin's fianc�e's wedding shower at the last minute. No one gets hurt.

  6. Santa Fake (12 November 2001) I go to Santa Fe and have an unpleasant time, thanks to my scary hippie roommate for the evening.

  7. Giant Food (23 October 2001) An evening in the scariest restaurant in the entire Denver metropolitan area. The phrase "schooner of potatoes" is used.

  8. I Learn Thai (3 August 2001) Honestly, I have no idea why this one is so popular. It's not that good, it doesn't have any search-engine-triggering phrases (except "spermy") in it, so who knows. Basically, I talk about starting to learn Thai (later abandoned) and there's some mildly snarky bits about The Employer's daughter.

  9. Green Chile (25 November 2001) My recipe for green chile stew. Unbelievably excellent.

  10. Warbling Peanuts (14 September 2001) Another dream I had, about inanimate objects playing hockey and singing peanuts.

Looking back, is there any sort of pattern? Not really. The last half of the month seems to be more fruitful than the first part, and October to November of last year was full of highlights, but other than that, not much else to say. Accounts of dreams seem to be popular, along with tales of the weird residents of my town. But other than that, it seems like a representative cross-section of what I've done over the last 400 entries.

Hopefully there'll be another 400.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.